Life Resolutions


While rummaging through my backpack, I managed to pull a life bucket list that I wrote during my management class a couple of weeks ago. It is presented here. Some of these are partially corny, but they are things that I think are truly needed to become a complete person:

-Visit the Marfa Lights
-Visit an off-the-beaten path art museum in a city I’ve never been to (one of the coolest art museums I’ve been to is the Renwick in Washington D.C.)
-Stay in a non-American hostel (there happens to be hostels in NYC and Vegas)
-Meet someone from every country in the world (disputed territories included)
-Go to a momentous sporting event in DFW (Mavs NBA finals, Rangers World Series, Cowboys Super Bowl, UNT BCS Bowl/Sweet 16, FC Dallas MLS Cup)
-Climb a large mountain (yes, very vague)
-Go to a Champions League game
-learn to cook at least 15 gourmet meals (current progress: half of one full meal)
-Hunt and skin my own food for a meal
-Write a meaningful poem
-Eat at all of the 100 places on the Travel Channel Chowdown Countdown (current progress: 4)
-Share something magnificent and non-sexual with a stranger
Tailgate at a NASCAR race
-Learn and appreciate love like college basketball coaching legend John Wooden
-Visit the oldest synagogue in America
-Share a laugh with someone in a community where laughs are in short supply
-Read five books of my choosing before the end of 2010 (current progress: 1 1/2)
-Learn to say “I love you” to the people that matter most (for present and future purposes) (as corny as that sounds, it’s an important skill to have)
-Visit the Grand Canyon
-Ran another marathon (I ran the San Diego Rock N Roll Marathon in June 2006)
-See all the wonders of the world
-Learn to appreciate the art of playing an instrument, and learn to read music in the process (I quit playing the violin and the guitar in middle school- I regret that)
-Go to the World Cup… again (I went as a six-year old in 1994)
-Successfully coach a youth basketball team in another country, or a city where basketball isn’t as popular
-Write a 3000-5000 word feature on something many people will find interesting (like the features in the New Yorker)
-Have a meaningful conversation with someone I just met
-Find someone in my life who will truly make me smile
-Learn to make better first impressions
-Attend a game at Cowboys Stadium (this should have already been done)
-Run in a European or Middle Eastern city
-Go skydiving
-Develop my yoga to the point where I can do a quality handstand
-Learn to tell a decent, non-insulting joke
-Visit the NBA and NFL Hall of Fames (in Springfield, Ill, and Canton, Ohio, respectively)
-Go to a symphony in Vienna (their orchestra is the best in the world)
-Learn to value the importance of family
-Take at least ten of the Man vs. Food challenges (current progress: zero)
-Attend a Harvard/Yale football tailgate
-Watch all foreign films nominated for an Oscar (current progress: 3)
-Learn to truly understand issues that face me as an American
-Have a credit score like my father’s when I’m his age
-Learn at least two languages (current progress: zero)
-Visit a Hindu temple
-Learn how to play cricket
-Go to a dangerous place
-Become successful to the point where I am satisfied with my life, and am able to do things that I enjoy

As I search for different music to listen to (country and 90s rap only goes so far) I’ve found myself listening to an awesome musician, and UNT alum Norah Jones. Current song on my playlist:

Leave a Reply

