A return from blogging purgatory/New adventures of old adam


It’s been about a month since I last wrote anything of note- so I’ll run down important things that happened in my life since April 9 2010.

– The Dallas Mavericks proceeded to lose in the first round. AGAIN. Seriously, this is getting ridiculous.
– Sandra Bullock has an African baby. Cool. Not.
– The Dallas Cowboys had a sweet draft, picking up Dez Bryant and Sean Lee. I’m very excited
-Arizona immigration bill was passed. No comment.
– Went to Tucson, Arizona, to visit a truly awesome girl. And ate a nice burger at Lendy’s, and hiked the Sabino Canyon. And made the pilgrimage back to In N Out. Oh yes.
-I became an official Mac user. It took me 22 years.
-Most importantly, I figured out what I’m doing with the next two years of my life: I’m joining the Peace Corps as a Youth Development Facilitator in Peru.

(Yes, only three of those above actually pertained to my life, but they all had a profound impact on my psyche)

I guess there were a lot of things that factored into me making this decision. I needed a challenge, and some more skill sets for use when I come back on the US job market at age 24. I’ve always wanted to travel and see new cultures and interact with different people and I guess the Peace Corps provides me with a good opportunity to do that.

Am I scared? Hell yes. Not about the culture shock, or the language barrier, but the communication with those I care about back home. I’ve talked to a couple of friends serving abroad and they say those who want to keep in contact with you will do it.

Luckily, I’m on EST rather than my friends who serve 7,8,9,10 hours away, so it should be easier from a time perspective. Unfortunately, I might get placed in bum fuck nowhere, with an internet cafe 2,3,4,5 hours away, so that could severely hamper me in terms of communication.

Other than that though, I’m excited to see what this new challenge brings. Will I be working with a bunch of dirty hippies…. or normal people with interesting stories? Will I become fluent in Spanish? (I need to) Will I take running seriously again? Will I actually make a difference in the community? Will I maintain a clean room for two years?

There are things I’m going to miss being gone for 2 years. I’m going to miss watching Cowboys games every Sunday, and a plethora of college football on Saturday, Mavs games, fast food, decent phone and internet, Shiner Bock/Miller Lite among other things.

Most importantly, I’m going to miss my friends and family. I’m going to miss my roommate graduate, my friend of 21 years first two years as a father, the first wedding of someone outside my family, my baby brother get a driver’s license, and my other brother getting shitfaced on his 21st. By the time I get back, most of my friends will be out of college and in the working world, so it will be up to me to get in the job market quickly.

It’s up to me to make the most of it. It’s up to me to pay attention in language class, and technical training, and to the needs of others. Luckily I’ll only be 24 when I come out of this so I’ll still have the rest of my 20s to live.

In the coming weeks, this blog will be undergoing a rebranding to reflect my job, since apparently everyone makes a damn blog. Maybe I’ll add pictures every once in awhile, but the updates will hopefully come frequently.

On another note, this was written at 5:00 am, as I woke up from passing out after drinking a large amount of margaritas and beer on Cinco de Mayo. Go me, and go holidays that are conducive to binge drinking.

One response to “A return from blogging purgatory/New adventures of old adam

  1. So nice to have you back to writing!

Leave a Reply

