Fiestas Patrias/I should probably update this more often


Since I finally found time over the weekend to be on the internet for more than an hour, I decided while downloading Entourage Season 7 and The League that I would update this.

A lot has happened since I last updated this blog. Here’s a little rundown before I get to the main topics of this entry.

-I, along with several volunteers went to “El Classico”, the soccer match between the two biggest rivals in Peru, Universitario (La U) and Allianza Lima, a rivalry that has extended for 100 years. The staff in the training center was quite scared of us going, because apparently one person dies every year at the game. We bought the 30 sole seats though, rather than the 12 sole general public seats, so none of us died. The game itself was terrible and featured one goal and a lot of sloppy play. The official team of all of us, except for Mario, was La U and we left feeling disappointed.

-Because I don’t test very well, I was placed in a Spanish class by myself, which I named “education especiale” (special ed) While I don’t get the social interaction I want with other volunteers, the class is basically catered towards me, and I just talk about random things every day with my language instructor, Ivan. I’ve learned words like “subprime mortgage loans” and “bailout” (no I dont have my paper with me to tell you them)

-I cooked again. More on that later

Now for the main parts of my entry. This past Wednesday and Thursday was Fiestas Partias, or the Peruvian Independence Day. It was also my host mom’s birthday, as well as my dad’s back home. I decided to have a party at my house to coincide with the massive amount of family that came up for my mom’s birthday.

Similar to July 4, Rob and I decided to make pizzas. This time, we went for a more ambitious goal and made six pizzas for everyone, which was about 20 Peruvians and 35-40 volunteers. We did not start cooking until the afternoon because my mom made 3 kilograms of ceviche, arroz con pollo, and other delicious foods. Linda came over around 930 am to help with the cooking. My eyes were fried as well from cutting 15 or so onions.

Chris, Juliane and Rob came over around 12, but others didnt show up until 1-130-2 with food and other goodies. My host dad also made buckets of chicha which is a very tasty alcoholic drink.

The party went pretty well, as the last person did not leave until 930 or so, leaving Linda and I to clean up.

The next main event over the past two weeks was Field Based Training. By the time I finally decide to post this, I will have learned where I will be living for the next 2 years.

My field based training was in the department of Lambayeque, a coastal area in the north of Peru, about 12 hours  away from Lima. My group of 11 rode on what was called a semi cama bus, where the seat reclines, and we watch shitty movies and eat halfway mediocore food.

We visited four sites in Lambayeque that currently host Peace Corps Volunteers: Zana, Cayalti, Puerto Eten, and Bolivar, Cajamarca, as well as toured the capitol city of the region, Chiclayo. Some volunteers thought they had found their perfect sites when we toured the sites (my buddy Rob for example found Ciudad Eten perfect for him). I did not and am still wondering where my perfect site is going to be.

For field based training, my group and I performed several charlas (lessons) for different groups of different ages on topics ranging from HIV to teaching kids the cup game, a game I learned in jew camp. It was good practice for what happens when we get to site, but I could have used more individual practice.

Anyway thats really all I have.

Leave a Reply

